Once upon a time ...

The Odd Fellows became the first Pat Kidney team to capture the city title. The Odd Fellows defeated St. Sebastians two games to one.

St. Sebastians took Game One 8-2 behind the one hit pitching of Carl Erlacher.

Odd Fellows took Game Two 8-6 behind Lou Vinci. Howie Byrd had two hits for Odd Fellows. St. Sebastians had two hits each from Larry Mikowski,Bob Simmons, and Paul Gasparelli.

Game Three went to Odd Fellows 7-1. Sandy Clew was the winning pitcher. Carl Erlacher took the loss.. Odd Fellows had two hits from Howie Byrd. Larry Mikowski had two hits for St. Sebastians. In the fifth Odd Fellows scored four runs to lead 11-1. St. Sebastians scored six times, had bases loaded, and umpire called game because of darkness. The score reverted back to last completed inning.

District One Tournament
Community Field in Cromwell was the host site for the 1952 District One Tournament.

Pat Kidney won their opening District game over East Hampton 10-1. Aaron Wise hurled a no hitter. He struck out 14 and walked seven. Aaron Wise and Lawrence Black each had three hits while Phil Turcotte chipped in with a pair.

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
Pat Kidney All Stars 1 1 2 0 0 6
East Hampton All Stars 0 0 0 1 0 0

The Moose All Stars were defeated by Portland 4-1.

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R
Moose All Stars 0 0 1 0 0 0
Portland All Stars 0 4 0 0 0 x

In the semifinal game Pat Kidney edged Portland 6-4 in a seven inning game. Larry Black's two run double in the seventh was the game winning hit for Pat Kidney. Sandy Clew was the winning pitcher. He gave up five hits. Clew walked two and fanned three. He helped his own cause with two hits.

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H
Pat Kidney All Stars 2 1 0 0 1 0 2
Portland All Stars 2 0 0 2 0 0 0

In the championship game Berlin scored twice in the bottom of the sixth to defeat Pat Kidney 4-3. Lee Vereen in relief of Aaron Wise was the losing pitcher. Aaron Wise had three hits including a fifth inning homer.

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
Pat Kidney All Stars 1 0 1 0 1 0
Berlin All Stars 1 0 1 0 0 2

1952 Moose League All Stars
Larry Mikowski, Jackie Farrell, Jim Bishop, Bob Grasso, Carl Erlacher, Bob Simmons, Paul Gasparelli, Eddie Waylock, Larry DiNatale, Phil Salafia, Sebastian Greco, Dick Sheehan, Andy Binkowski, Donald Briggman.

1952 Pat Kidney League All Stars - District Runner-Up
Lawrence Black, Aaron Wise, Phil Turcotte, Louis Aresco, Jack Doyle, Dennis Tarallo, Lee Vereen, Dan Diguilo, Walt Coleman, Ray Mesick, Howie Byrd, Sandy Clew, Peter Dykas, Butch D'Aquila.

Ahern Whalen President Bernie Fields and League Director Sal Romano, made plans for a post season tournament to be played at Palmer Field. It would include several teams from the state. However, when several teams changed their minds and decided not to play, a two team tourney was held. Middletown and Portland agreed to play a best of three series. The Ahern Whalen All Stars swept two games.

Kenny Fredericks hurled a three hitter as Middletown took the opener 2-1.

Jackie "Mel" Malone fired a no hitter as the Ahern Whalen All Stars trounced Portland 17-1. He fanned dive and walked one.

Radio Station WCNX donated a 28" trophy to the winning team. Prior to the tournament the trophy was on display at Pinskers Jewelry store on Main Street. The Alling Rubber Company presented an award to the second place team.

1952 Ahern Whalen All Stars
Manager Bruno Witkowski. Asst Manager Tom Prue. Coaches Johnny Rybczk and Ted Schaefer.
Gene Vereen, Joe Misenti, Jackie Malone, Billy Cahill, Bobby Prue, Tom Barrett, Sam Piazzessi, Seb Spada, Dean Patenaude, Joe Romano, Dave Darling, Jackie Winner, Kenny Fredericks, Walter Lefco, Bobby Sienko.

1952 Portland All Stars
Manager John Farrell. Coach Bill Ward.
Jim Farrell, Art Hetrick, Paul Ghent, Joe Mosca,Sal Arena, Lee Pierce, Sal Bartolotta, Al Clark, Jerry Hanford, George Sone, Richard Gayeski, Frank Cappello, Jerry Unikiewicz, Robert Fusari, Jack McGarry.

Peter J. McGovern becomes the first full-time President of Little League Baseball.

Back to the League History Page