Once upon a time ...

National Little League Rules prohibit playing the City Championship series.

St. John's won the Pat Kidney title.

Odd Fellows won round one of the Moose League. The Eagles won the second round, and set a best of three playoff.

Game One went to the Eagles 9-7. Bob Dickerson was the winning pitcher. He also hit a three run homer. Lavern Hart had three hits for the Eagles. Howie Byrd had three hits for the Odd Fellows.

Game Two was a pitching duel between Sandy Clew and Lavern Hart. Both pitched two hitters. Clew and the Odd Fellows prevailed 2-1.

The title game was called after five innings because of darkness. The Eagles won 15-11. Bob Dickerson went the distance for the win. He also homered. Don Emanuelson led the Odd Fellows with three hits including a three run homer. The Eagles were paced by two hits each from Bobby Dusza, Bob Pistel, and Tom Helenick.

District One Tournament
In the opening round the two Middletown squads faced off at Sudano Park. Moose triumphed 3-2. Larry Mikowski hit a three run homer in the first inning to account for all of the Moose scoring. Mikowski had two hits on the day. Larry DiNatale threw a four hitter for the win. He walked two and struck out 16. Sandy Clew was the losing pitcher. He gave up five hits. Clew walked one and fanned eight..

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
Pat Kidney All Stars 1 0 1 0 0 0
Moose All Stars 3 0 0 0 0 0

In their second game Moose, behind the no-hit pitching of Jackie Farrell, shut out East Hampton 12-0. Farrell walked two and recorded eight strikeouts. Moose was led by Joe Serra with three hits. Larry Mikowski had two hits including a home run. Cliff Rainey and Phil Salafia both had doubles..

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
East Hampton All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 0
Moose All Stars 0 5 2 1 4 x

In the semi final game Moose defeated Moodus 9-5 at Memorial Field in Moodus. Larry Mikowski went to the hill for Moose and gave the team its third complete game. He gave up five hits, six walks and had three strikeouts. The key hit was Joe Serra's three run homer in the fourth to give Moose an 8-2 lead. Serra and Larry DiNatale each had two hits..

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
Moose All Stars 3 2 0 3 1 0
Moodus All Stars 2 0 0 1 1 1

Paxto Field in Southington was the site of the District championship game between Moose and Southington. Moose built a 4-0 lead in the fourth. Southington used a pair of three run innings for a 6-4 comeback win. Larry DiNatale and Jackie Farrell each had two hits for Moose.

TEAM 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H
Moose All Stars 0 2 0 2 0 0
Southington All Stars 0 0 0 3 3 x

1953 Moose League All Stars - District Runner-Up
Larry Mikowski, Larry DiNatale, Phil Salafia, Vin Chester, Phil Romagelli, Joe Serra, Jim Harris, Patsy Taylor, Dennis Murray, Bob Grasso, Cliff Rainey, Dave Zachary, Jackie Farrell, Frank Sena.

1953 Pat Kidney League All Stars
Howie Byrd, Phil Turcotte, Jerry Flory, Vic Spada, Tom Botti, Lavern Hart, Walt Coleman, Lou D'Amato, Sandy Clew, Dan DiGuillio, Don Emanuelson, Rich Pachloski.

On August 12, 1953, a meeting was held at the Middletown YMCA to finalize plans for the first Connecticut Intermediate Baseball Tournament. Ahern Whalen President Bernie Fields was in charge of the meeting.

Eight teams were represented for the single elimination tournament. The eight teams were from Middletown, New Britain, Portland, Guilford, Saybrook, Willimantic, Ansonia and Derby.

All the games would be played at Palmer Field with a start time of 5:15. No entry fee was charged for the teams. Each team could carry a maximum of fifteen players. Only players, manager, coach, and scorekeeper were allowed on the team's bench. Only players, in uniform, were allowed to coach on the bases.

A toss of the coin would determine the home team for each game. Four umpires, assigned by the Ahern Whalen League, would work each game. A protest committee was formed consisting of Bernie Fields, Jimmy Genovese, and Paul Joyce.

Sal Romano was in charge of the tournament schedule. Fred Clarke secretary of the Ahern Whalen League, was given the same post at this tournament. Fred Post, Sports Editor of the Middletown Press, was the public address announcer for the games.

At the meeting the schedule for the tournament was drawn.

Day Date Time Teams
Mon Aug 24 5:15 PM New Britain v Guilford
Tue Aug 25 5:15 PM Willimantic v Saybrook
Wed Aug 26 5:15 PM Middletown v Derby
Thu Aug 27 5:15 PM Portland v Ansonia
Fri Aug 28 5:15 PM Winners 8/24 & 8/25
Sat Aug 29 5:15 PM Winners 8/26 & 8/27
Fri Aug 30 5:15 PM Championship

The Little League World Series in Williamsport PA. is televised for the first time by CBS, while Howard Cosell announced the play-by-play for ABC radio.

Back to the League History Page