Once upon a time ...

A third league is added in Middletown. It was named after Bernard M. O'Rourke, who had served as Superintendent of Parks and Playgrounds and was Middletown Little League's "founding father". The new league had four teams: the Lions, the Gold Seals (Goodyear Rubber), the Garrys (Garibaldi Society) and EIS. The city championship was now a three way affair. It became a single elimination tournament, with one league winner drawing a bye and playing the winner of the game between the other two league winners. This format was in effect from 1960 to 1967.

In the first year of this format, The Lions were the O'Rourke League winners, joining Moose Champion VFW and Pat Kidney Champion Eagles. The VFW drew the first round bye.

In the playdown game, Johnny Pistel threw a one-hitter as the Eagles defeated the Lions 3-1

In the City Title game, Bob Dawson of the VFW hurled a two hitter and struck out 12 as the VFW beat the Eagles 7-1. Bob Young of the Eagles allowed three hits and homered in a losing cause.

District Nine Tournament
Cromwell behind the three pitching of Mike Kavanaugh defeated Pat Kidney 5-1 in a game played at Cromwell.He walked one and struck out six. Pat Kidney's pitching duo of Johnny Pistel and Bob Johnson recorded 13 strikeouts. Ray Libera had two hits for Cromwell and Pistel had two for Pat Kidney.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Cromwell All Stars 0 1 0 2 0 2 5 4 2
Pat Kidney All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 3 1

Portland defeated Bernie O'Rourke 2-0 in a game at Hubbard Park. Johnny Hudec walked one and struck out nine as the O'Rourke pitcher. He gave up four hits. The big hit was Bobby Buttram's two run double. Larry Riley had two hits for O'Rourke. Ken Bastura was the winning pitcher.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
O'Rourke All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 2
Portland All Stars 0 0 2 0 0 x 2 4 1

Cromwell eliminated the Moose All Stars 2-0 at Hubbard Park Vinnie Cartelli and David Peterson pitched for Moose. Peter Carlin and Ray Libera comined to pitch the shutout for Cromwell

The Shoreline All Stars defeated Cromwell 4-2 in Cromwell to win the District 9 title. Gerry Stinson was the winning pitcher hurling a three hitter. He struck out 15 and walked 6. Sumner Francis homered and doubled for Shoreline. Bradley had two hits for Cromwell.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Cromwell All Stars 0 0 2 0 0 0 2 3 3
Shoreline All Stars 3 0 0 0 1 x 4 4 2

1960 Moose League All Stars
Managers Frank Marchese and Seb Garofalo.
John Waylock, David Clew, Richard Gula, Torry Corvo, Vinnie Cartelli, Ricky Grasso, Mike Imme, Pete Shukis, Myron Gleaton, Bob Dawson, Ron Neyer, Larry Lombardo, Johnny Spada, David Peterson.

1960 Pat Kidney League All Stars
Managers Ed Smith and Paul Cashman.
Johnny Pistel, Johnny Leith, Garry Cameron, Kevin Dunn, Bob Johnson, Mark Holzberg, Artie Burgess, Milt Shapiro, Ted Faraci, Paul Wysocki, John Messina, Chauncey Copeland, Paul Bransfield, Jesse Bonner.

1960 O'Rourke League All Stars
Manager Don Pierce.
Jimmy Gorman, Mike Mastergeorge, Mike Baron, Phil Needle, Johnny Hudec, Larry Riley, Peter Thompson, Angelo Ciccarello, Sal Malone, Bruce Streeter, Johnny Souza, Tony Prete, Mike Goldstein.

Back to the League History Page