Once upon a time ...

The Gold Seals from the O' Rourke League drew the bye in the 1961 City Championship series and waited to play the winner of the Moose League Champion Jaycees and the Pat Kidney Champion Eagles.

The Eagles won the playdown game 7-5. Johnny Leith pitched a four hit, eleven strikeout game for the win. John Spada pitched for the Jaycees. Jay Langley homered for the Eagles as well as having a double to drive in winning run.

The Eagles then claimed the championship with a 7-4 seven inning victory over the Gold Seals. Johnny Leith was the winning pitcher. Jamie Stewart and Dennis Miller each had two hits for the Eagles. Danny Maloney had two hits for Gold Seals.

District Nine Tournament
The Cromwell A11 Stars opened their 1961 tournament play by shuting out the Bernie O'Rourke All Stars 9-0 behind the four hit pitching of Mike Kavanaugh in Cromwell. Ravanaugh homered in the third. Danny McCarthy hit a three run homer in Cromwell's seven run fourth inning. Tom Mahar had three hits for Cromwell. Mike Kavanaugh, Danny McCarthy and Jimmy Guiliano each had two hits. Frank Kalinowski had two hits for the O'Rourke team. Danny Maloney and Mike Mastergeorge each had one hit. Danny Maloney was the O'Rourke starter. He was replaced in the fourth inning by Tom Frayne.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
O'Rourke All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 2
Cromwell All Stars 0 0 1 7 1 x 9 11 0

Portland used the long ball and a great game saving catch to defeat Pat Kidney 4-2. Larry Newhardt was the winning pitcher. He hit a two run homer in the second inning. Frank Pawlowski hit a solo shot in the fourth. Pawlowski robbed Wayne Hennessey of a three run homer with two out in the bottom of the sixth. Johnny Leith pitched the distance for Pat Kidney. He walked one and fanned seven.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Portland All Stars 0 2 0 1 1 0 4 5 3
Pat Kidney All Stars 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 6 1

Cromwell edged the Moose All Stars 7-6. Cromwell catcher John Shebat doubled in Rick Perruzzi and Danny McCarthy with the winning runs. Dave Peterson and Frank Marchese each had two hits for the Moose stars. Mark Corvo had a double and Marchese a triple. Johnny Spada was the Moose hurler. He walked one and fanned four.

East Hampton had only one hit, a fourth inning home run by Larry Lawrence, but defeated Cromwell 1-0 in the 1961 District Nine championship. John Kagerer pitched a two hitter to secure the victory. Cromwell hits were by Miller and Kavanaugh.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
East Hampton All Stars 0 0 0 1 0 0 1 1 1
Cromwell All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2

The East Hampton All Stars were defeated by the District 7 champions the Murphy Little League All Stars of Hartford 9-1 at Baroni Field. Murphy's Johnny Maziarz pitched a brilliant game limiting East Hampton to four hits. The Hartford club was led by a bases loaded triple by Alex Drakoulakos and a two run homer by Billy Dempsey. Barrett had two hits for East Hampton while Sloan and Condon each had one hit.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
East Hampton All Stars 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 4 1
Murphy LL - Hartford 0 0 0 0 9 x 9 6 2

1961 Moose League All Stars
Managers Chip Crescimano and Sal Filanda.
Dave Peterson, Mark Corvo, Henry Rybczyk, Frank Marino, John Spada, Frank Marchese, John Pitruzello, Joe Sena, Mike Petruzzello, Reg Hunter, Rick Gula, Jimmy Corbett, Gary Kenefick, David Clew.

1961 Pat Kidney League All Stars
Managers Clarence Cameron and Bob Connelly.
Dennis Miller, John Langley, Jamie Stewart, Johnny Leith, Bill Moody, Dave Raczka, Paul Robida, Paul Wysocki, George Coskey, Danny Ready, Don McCutcheon, Wayne Hennessey, Dennis Salustro, Joe Combe.

1961 O'Rourke League All Stars
Manager Warren Heidenis.
Mike Morgan, Danny Maloney, Doug Durham, Jerry D'Amata, Mike Mastergeorge, Lew Daniels, Gary Cardella, Jimmy Walsh, Tom Frayne, Ang Ciccarello, Chris Scaeffer, Ray Inferrera, Mike Aresco, Frank Kalinowski.

1961 Harry's Auto - Ahern-Whalen League Champs

Front Row (L to R): Greg Aubin, Sal Malone, Ted Lombardo, Ed Koslowski, Tom Greco, Art Burgress, Jerry Carta
Back Row (L to R): Sponsor Ben Halpern, Coach Carl Lombardo, Tony Pulino, Don Lombardo, Simon Hart,
Bill Denehy, Tom Serra, Ray D'Amato, Bob Rau, Coach Sal Russo, Sponsor Harry Halpern - Missing: Wayne Klick

Photo courtesy of D. Lombardo

Back to the League History Page