Once upon a time ...

In the Moose League the Jaycees won the first round. Kiwanis took the second. In the Moose title game Kiwanis won 6-4 behind Phil Gorman. He pitched a four hitter striking out 10. Gorman had two hits. Mike Filanda pitched for the Jaycees.

In the O'Rourke playoff game Lions beat EIS 1-0. Pete Ptak pitched the no hit no run game. He walked three and fanned nine. In the fifth Ptak tripled and scored on Tommy Hudec's single.

Kiwanis defeated Lions to move into the title game against the Elks.

Rick Kolenda hurled a two hit, eleven strikeout game that gave the Elks a 4-0 victory. Jon Daniels drove in two runs off of Kiwanis pitcher Brian O'Rourke. Phil O'Brien had two hits for the Elks.

District Nine Tournament
The Moose All Stars claimed the 1964 District Nine Little League championship. They defeated the Pat Kidney All Stars 2-1 in the title game at Hubbard Park.

Moose opened up their tourney play with a 6-2 triumph over the Bernie O'Rourke All Stars. Moose used four home runs to back the five hit pitching of Brian O'Rourke. He fanned nine and walked three. In the second inning Andy Romegialli hit a two run homer for Moose to tie the score at 2-2. The next batter Steve Nellis homered to put Moose ahead for good. His hit drove out pitcher Peter Ptak and brought in Steve Gould who pitched the rest of the game. In the fourth Steve Nellis and Mike Dawson hit solo homers. Glen Pellici hit a home run in the second and doubled in the sixth for the O'Rourke All Stars.

Team R H E
Moose All Stars 6 5 2
O'Rourke All Stars 2 5 2

Moose traveled to Essex to meet the CDE All Stars at Hubbard Field. Behind the six hit pitching of Mike Filanda, Moose won 6-3. Filanda struck out four and did not issue any walks. CDE used the combined pitching of Don Carlson and Jim Cerruti. Moose unleashed a ten hit attack. Ed Mann had three hits and leadoff batter Mike Dawson had two. Brian O'Rourke homered for the Moose All Stars. They had doubles from Ciccarello, Filanda and two from Mann.

Team R H E
Moose All Stars 6 10 3
CDE All Stars 3 6 2

Pat Kidney exploded for nineteen hits to rout East Haddam-Moodus 20-2 at Baroni Field. Pat Kidney had home runs from Rick Kolenda and Phil O'Brien. Keith Byrd had four hits. Phil O'Brien added three hits. Pat Kidney had two hits each from Nob Preston,Dennis Teart, Kim Myers, and Rick Kolenda. Kolenda was the winning pitcher hurling a one hitter. He walked one and whiffed eight.

Team R H E
Pat Kidney All Stars 20 19 3
East Haddam Moodus 2 1 5

The Moose All Stars reached the finals with a 5-3 victory over East Hampton at Hubbard Park. The game was called after five innings because of rain. Brian O'Rourke outdueled Bo Lyman. O'Rourke struck out seven and walked no one and gave up four hits. Lyman issued seven walks, six hits, and fanned seven. Moose scored three in top of fifth to take 5-3 lead. Game was held up because of approach of stormy weather. It was then resumed and East Hampton's three batters were retired. Then the rains hit and game was called. Mike Filanda had two hits. Brian O'Rourke had a double.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Moose All Stars 2 0 0 0 3 x 5 6 1
East Hampton All Stars 0 0 0 3 0 x 3 4 4

The Pat Kidney All Stars moved into the finals to face the Moose All Stars with a 6-5 win over Middlefield at Peckham Field in Middlefield. The game was played over two days. The game was halted in the top of the fifth with the score tied at 4-4. Dennis Teart hit a two run homer in the sixth to carry Pat Kidney to their win. Kim Myers and Rick Kolenda homered for Pat Kidney. Bob Preston was the winning pitcher. He gave up three hits, walked two, and struckout six. Scott Cichon pitched for Middlefield. He gave up four walks, eight hits and had five strikeouts.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Pat Kidney All Stars 2 0 2 0 0 2 6 8 4
Middlefield All Stars 0 0 4 0 0 1 5 3 5

In the District Nine championship game Moose edged Pat Kidney 2-1 at Hubbard Park. Mike Filanda pitched a three hitter for Moose while Rick Kolenda pitched a five hitter as Pat Kidney"s moundsman. Filanda walked two and struck out six. Kolenda fanned seven and walked two. Steve Nellis was the offensive star for Moose. He hit a homerun in the second to tie the game. In the bottom of the sixth he doubled in Phil Gorman with the winning run. Brian O'Rourke had two hits for Moose.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Pat Kidney All Stars 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 3 0
Moose All Stars 0 1 0 0 0 1 2 5 2

The Moose All Stars of 1964 became the first Middletown Little League team to move into the Connecticut tournament since the 1958 Moose team.

Moose played Forestville at Palmer Field in Middletown. Forestville prevailed 9-3. Brian O'Rourke was the Moose starter and pitched into the fourth. He was relieved by Johnny Ruffino. Ruffino gave up a three run homer to Rob McCabe to make the score 8-3. O'Rourke struck out six, walked two and gave up five hits.

Ed Mann and Brian O'Rourke each had two Moose hits. The other Moose hits were by Mike Filanda, Phil Gorman, and Andy Romegialli. Brian O'Rourke homered for Moose. This was the 102nd home run hit by a Middletown Little Leaguers in 1964.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R H E
Moose All Stars 0 1 0 2 0 0 3 7 2
Forestville 0 0 4 4 1 x 9 8 0

1964 Moose League All Stars - District Champions
Managers Peter Filanda and Chip Crescimano.
Brian O' Rourke, Phil Gorman, Eddie Mann, Tom Cashman, Mike Dawson, Mike Filanda, Andy Romegialli, Tom Enright, Steve Nellis, Sal Ciccarello, Joe Ciccarello, Tom DeLude, John Ruffino, Mario Aresco.

1964 Pat Kidney League All Stars - District Runner-Up
Manager Ray Hennessey.
Phil O'Brien, Rick Kolenda, Keith Byrd, Patrick Hennessey, Phil Faraci, Ron Edens, Dennis Teart, Billy Vasiliou, Robert Holzberg, Kim Myers, Robert Preston, Ernest Frazier, Francis Patnaude, Andrew Raczka

1964 O'Rourke League All Stars
Managers Tom Frayne and Tom Flynn.
John Satagaj, Steve Gould, Robert Donovan, John Dempsey, Tom Flynn, Bill Montanile, Dan DeMale, Bernie Heizman, Rich Riordan, Ed Mozdziesz, Pete Daniels, Glen Pellici, Paul Hatje, Peter Ptak

Middletown's Woodrow Wilson High School capped a fine year by winning the Connecticut Class B State High School Baseball Championship.

1964 Woodrow Wilson High School - Class B State Champs

Front Row ( L to R ): Coach G. Pehota, D. Holmes, E. Koslowski, P. Milardo, L. Kestern, P. Collins, B. Denehy, D. Lombardo
Middle Row ( L to R ): Mgr. G. Birner, B. Dawson, B. Johnson, K. King, L. LaRosa, C. Russo, J. Hudec
Back Row ( L to R ): T. Lombardo, D. Anzianno, T. Dybick, H. Rybczyk, P. Coombs, M. Imme

Photo courtesy of D. Lombardo

Back to the League History Page