The Flag Flies Proudly Again....

On June 29, Little League officials, Mayor Thornton and several civic organizations dedicated a new flagpole at Hubbard Park, in honor of J. Bruce Eagleson. Those who knew him as a coach, fan or friend mourned his loss in the World Trade Center terrorist attacks. The flagpole and plaque that were dedicated will let those in the future know that Bruce was a hero.
Click to see Flagpole Pictures ....  

2002 Baseball City Champions - Kiwanis

Kiwanis won its first city Championship in ten years by routing Exchange 14--7. It was a tremendous team effort as Kiwanis rapped out 18 hits. With Exchange winning the coin toss to be home team, Kiwanis went right to work and scored three runs on five hits in the top of the first inning. Bradley Fletcher started with a single, Joe Fountain followed with a double, then Brendan Nicholson cracked a single to plate the first two runs. After a fielder's choice, Dan Varricchio and Ryan Nicholson each had singles to score the third run. William Biestek led the Kiwanis attack with four hits in five at bats. Brendan Nicholson also had four hits including one homerun. Bradley Fletcher chipped in a single and double and did a tremendous job filling in for injured All Star catcher Joe Fountain. Sean Batchelder had a single and double while scoring four runs. Tyler Fletcher and Joe Fountain each had hits. Brendan Nicholson was the mound star recording 15 strikeouts while yielding four hits for the complete game victory. Chris Tuttle had three of Exchange Club's four hits in the game.

Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 R HE
Kiwanis 3 1 2 4 0 4
Exchange 2 1 0 0 1 0
WP- B. Nicholson   LP- K. Sinagra

2002 Moose League Champions - Exchange

Nothing reported this year.

2000 Moose League All Stars
Manager Norm Maneneit, Coaches: Bob Sinagra and Jeff Marchese
Kevin Sinagra, Shawn Holley, Jordan Dielbolt, Bobby Stachura, Brendan Behm, Matt Santangelo, Steve Marchese, Bud Dorflinger, Mike Kolenda, Tyler Latham, Jonathan Smith, Ryan Thiel

2000 O'Rourke-Kidney League All Stars
Manager Mike Nicholson Coaches: Joe Fountain and Gary Calnan
Sean Batchelder, Willie Biestek, Ron Brown, Dennis Cartier, Darrell Dow, Joe Fountain, Channing Harwoord, Charlie Ives, Casey Leslie, Kevin Liudzius, Brendan Nicholson, Anthony Puorro



The following people served the Middletown Little League as its 2002 Board of Directors. Thanks to all.

President John Bagley
League Secretary Brenda Michanczyk
Treasurer Carl Carta
Fund Raiser Mark Soll
Player Agent/Registration BB Ed Pratt
Player Agent/Registration SB Anne Galanto
Scheduling Director - Softball Anissa Schweighoffer
Scheduling Director - Baseball Jeff Marchese
Safety Officer Dan Hunter
Umpire Scheduling John Krause
Equipment Manager - Baseball Jeff Marchese
Equipment Manager - Softball Jody Manemeit
Training Director Cliff Carlson
Public Relations Suzanne Morello
League Web Site Ken Brostek
Ahern Whalen President Steven Ladd
Director - T-Ball Carey Hewitt
Director - Instruct Mike Carta
Director - Minors Ken Robinson
Director - Majors Cliff Carlson
Director - T-Ball Dana Wilson
Director - Instructional Eddie Valeriano
Director - Minors Anissa Schweighoffer
Director - Majors Anissa Schweighoffer


Back to the League History Page